YA Writing

Writers: Stay Positive

Every now and then I have one of those days when I feel like saying ‘what’s the use?’ even though I’ve been told countless times that the writing slog can be just that. You learn the craft and experiment. You read and take in knowledge. You interact with other writers. You learn from your mistakes and you convince yourself that it makes sense to keep going even if deep down you don’t really feel it.

It’s during these times that I tell myself to stay positive. I don’t need anyone to tell me how many writers were rejected 50 gazillion times and eventually got signed. I know that. I don’t need anyone to tell me that it just takes time. I know that. I don’t need anyone to tell me I do have talent. I know that too. But none of that makes me feel any better. I guess sometimes I just want to wallow in self-pity. Yep I’m there right now.

But it’s not just the writing game. I have been looking for a full-time job as a customer support technical writer for the past four months and not even one interview. It may be my age – though I hope not – and it may be that it’s just a very very very slow process to review resumes. I know that too.

So, I’m writing this blog to remind everyone to STAY POSITIVE and now that I think about it, writing this blog has made me feel a whole lot better. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

